Rockmite 20 – First run

My Rockmite 20 took a final shape. I have managed to kit it up and do a first run these days and its working almost great. I have added the 2N3866 power transistor from the kit to increase the output power, replaced R5 with a 1M potmeter for volume control and added a small VXO to have a little bit of tuning range.

Rockmite 20

Rockmite 20

Update on 06.05.2015. CNC engraved panel labels:

Rockmite 20 QRPp Transceiver

Rockmite 20 QRPp Transceiver

The VXO mod is this one from KE2SP. With it I am able to tune the frequency from around 14.047 to 14.050, with an acceptable Tx/Rx offset. I have made a test QSO with a local ham and seems to be ok. The bad part with this mod is that at Rx, the crystal front end filter is to narrow, and when coming to 14.047 its quite noticeable. I read on the Rockmite yahoo group that a best way to solve this is to replace C2 with a 68pF one. I will be testing this out later.

Rockmite 20 - Inside #1

Rockmite 20 – Inside #1

Still don’t know what crystal to chose. I have a 14.060 pair too, but don’t know if it will be more traffic chances there rather than 14.050.

Rockmite 20 - Inside #1

Rockmite 20 – Inside #2

The power mod I did was to put instead of the 2N2222, a 2N3866 supplied in the kit, and replaced R18, 10 ohms, with a 3 ohm one. I have measured the power output with 2N3866, at around 12.3 V and it seems to be low, around 300-350 mW. Not sure if this is ok, I should probably increase the supply voltage to 13.8 V and see then the result, or maybe to lower R18 to 2.2 ohms or even 0 ohm.

Rockmite 20 Setup

Rockmite 20 Setup

For power supply I have used a 12 V SLA battery. Its very silent with it. First test was with a linear power supply, 220V/12V with a LM317, but a lot of noise was coming to the receiver.

Rockmite 20 Backside

Rockmite 20 Backside

I haven’t done yet any QSO, except that sked with a local ham to test it. One night when I was finishing assembly everything and did the first smoke test, I was calling CQ for about two-three minutes, and also posted myself on the cluster, with no response of course. But the next day, curiously, I search myself on DXsummit.fi, and found this report from VE7DXF, 339, 9000km away, wow… So it may be promising!

Rockmite Rx report

Rockmite Rx report

This entry was posted in Ham projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rockmite 20 – First run

  1. Jari, OH6TX says:

    I modified my rockmite to have 1.5w at 12v (over 2w at 13.8v)
    R17 and r18 shorted
    Driver 2n2222
    Final was 2sc11something…

    Email if interested..

    Jaska

Leave a Reply

